History of Overstone Cottages
The Gordon family arrived around 1856 on the farm Aberdour, named after their Scottish village and acquired Overstone a few years later from the Foxon family. Alexander and William settled Aberdour and John Herbert, their nephew started building up Overstone.
He married Ellen Ward, daughter of Rev Ward, the second pastor at Byrne, near Richmond and they had 5 sons, John [Jack], Maurice, [died aged 2] Geoffrey,[died aged 26] Douglas, and Huntly. John succeeded to Overstone, having married Ismay Boast of original York Natal pioneer stock, and they produced Jean, Alistair, Julian and Bruce. Julian purchased Overstone from his father Jack in 1975. Julian married Jennifer Sephton, descended from the 1820 Eastern cape settlers, in 1962 and their 3 children Phillippa, Caroline and Andrew have provided
six grandchildren to continue enjoying their connection with Overstone.
The farming developed from totally wild in the 1860’s through mixed crop farming to Wattle tree plantations to sugar cane, always with a smattering of hardy cattle herds subsisting on the less than nutritious natural veld grasses.
After the passing of Jack in 1992 it was a natural progression to gradually modernise the historic old outbuildings to todays’ characterful and comfortable [guest cottages] set in the beautiful old gardens.
The original stone horse stables have recently been converted into a characterful hall, used for both functions and dining purposes, which lend themselves to convivial social occasions where many a celebration and rip roaring party has been held.
On offer are both self catered and catered options, by prior arrangement according to choice. The Noodsberg country club, nearby offers a pristine 9 hole golf course and a restaurant option to satisfy most palates. On the farm activities offer mountain bikers, hikers, birdwatchers endless opportunities. Children can adventurously explore the enormous “playground” offered by the farm. For the hot summer days.
Folk who find the varied farm activities interesting can be taken on an explanatory tour and an evening game drive on the bakkie is a popular excursion. For the hot Summer days a swimming pool is available. There is a historic old chapel 7 graveyard, All Saints.
Monthly Church Services are held in the nearby historic All Saints Church, where the graveyard bears testimony to the family history.